Book 13 (Where I Gush About Tamora Pierce)

Posted on March 17, 2013. Filed under: Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , , , |

A long, long time ago, when I was in middle school, I was introduced to Tamora Pierce in the form of her Circle of Magic quartet. I remember that I actually started with Tris’s Book because Tris had red hair and wore glasses, like yours truly. I loved it so much that I started over from the beginning, and I made sure to read every book Tamora Pierce has written since.

However, I have a confession to make. As much as I heart Tamora Pierce, I’ve never read any of the Song of the Lioness series. Why? Have you seen the cover?

Alanna: The First Adventure cover artNow, doing a search, I see where the book has been re-released with new, updated covers, but no library I’ve ever been to has had those updated versions, and this cover is just so ’80s.

Yes, I’m judge-y. Yes, I’ve been missing out. I am fully willing to admit that, and as soon as I finish reading everything else for the Hub Challenge, I will go back and finish the series and anything else I might have missed out on. I might even do it before I read Game by Barry Lyga, and that book has been sitting on my desk taunting me for three weeks now.

Tamora Pierce is the 2013 winner of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for her lasting contribution to teen literature for the Song of the Lioness quartet and the Protector of the Small quartet. The Song of the Lioness quartet was originally an adult book, but at the urging of her agent, Pierce rewrote the novel into four books for teens, and we are so grateful.

Alanna: The First Adventure is the story of Alanna, a girl who is determined to be a knight, so much that she disguises herself as a boy. In this first book, she makes a few powerful friends and reveals she has some power of her own.

Pierce is a master of creating worlds, and all of her works are a must-read for the fantasy lover.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

